Six Lakers Named 2018-19 AHCA Division I Krampade All-American Scholars

2018-19 AHCA All-American Scholars

AHCA Release | Purchase 2019-20 Laker Hockey Season Tickets

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. Six members of the 2018-19 Lake Superior State hockey team have been named AHCA Division I Krampade All-American Scholars.

The Laker honorees are: Ashton CalderMelvin KarlssonNick KossoffJacob NordqvistCollin Saccoman and Pete Veillette.

To be eligible for the award, presented by the American Hockey Coaches Association, student-athletes must have competed in 40% of their team's games and have earned a GPA of at least 3.60 for each semester during the academic year.

A total of 292 student-athletes across NCAA Division I men's hockey have earned the recognition for 2018-19.

In 2018-19, the Lakers (23-13-2, 16-10-2-0 Western Collegiate Hockey Association) won their most games in a season since 1995-96, recorded their longest winning streak since 1996-97 (seven games), swept Ferris State in a road series for the first time since 1993-94, swept Michigan Tech in a series for the first time since 1983-84, won 16 WCHA Player of Week and six WCHA Player of the Month awards, had four All-WCHA Team selections, 14 WCHA All-Academic Team honoreesfive WCHA Scholar-Athletes, a Google Cloud Academic All-District® Men's At-Large Team selection, a Hockey Humanitarian Award nominee, two Hobey Baker Award nominees, claimed the first Great Lakes Invitational Championship in program history and captured their first-ever WCHA Playoffs series win. 

The Lakers will start their 54th season on Saturday, Oct. 5 and Sunday, Oct. 6 at Taffy Abel Arena. The series, against Merrimack College, is a rematch of last year's season-opening matchup. To purchase season tickets for the 2019-20 season, please click here.

For more information, follow LSSU hockey on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.